• Anita O'Day - Selected Clef, Norgran & Verve Recordings 1952-56

    Anita O'Day has long been admired as one of the very best jazz singers of the post-war era,
    With a rhythmic and dynamic style that she could readily deploy in big band, small group and sophisticated orchestral environments. Acrobat has already showcased her work during the early 1940s with the orchestras of Gene Krupa and Stan Kenton ("Anita O'Day - The Early Years 1941-45" ADDCD3098), and in this collection we focus on a similar period of years during the 1950s when she firmly carved for herself a significant place in the jazz pantheon. During the decade from 1952-62, she recorded for the labels established by jazz impresario Norman Granz - Clef, Norgran and, most famously, Verve - and her recordings during that time are recognized as the most significant of her career. This excellent-value 46-track 2-CD set comprises the complete content of her albums during the first five years of that era - "Anita O'Day Collates", "Songs By Anita O'Day", "An Evening With Anita O'Day", "Anita" and "Pick Yourself Up", (some titles appear on more than one LP) plus tracks from singles. On those albums she is accompanied variously by the orchestras of Ralph Burns, Roy Kral, Larry Russell and Buddy Bregman, with musicians on the sessions including Barney Kessel, Roy Eldridge, Stan Getz, Shelly Manne, Budd Johnson, Andy Secrest, Jimmy Giuffre, Paul Smith and many more. It's a snapshot of a key era in her career, and a fine showcase for her unique talent working across a range of musical environments.

    Disc 1:

    1. Rock 'N Roll Blues
    2. Love For Sale
    3. Lover Come Back To Me
    4. Lullaby Of The Leaves
    5. No Soap, No Hope Blues
    6. The Lady Is A Tramp
    7. Speak Low
    8. Strawberry Moon
    9. Pagan love song
    10. Ain't this a wonderful day
    11. Gypsy In My Soul
    12. Just One Of Those Things
    13. The Man I Love
    14. Frankie And Johnny
    15. Anita's Blues
    16. I Cover The Waterfront
    17. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
    18. Let's Fall In Love
    19. You're Getting To Be A Habit With Me
    20. From This Moment On
    21. You Don't Know What Love Is
    22. Medley: There'll Never Be Another You, Just Friends
    23. Fine And Dandy
    24. Beautiful Love

    Disc 2:

    1. Who Cares'
    2. As Long As I Live
    3. I Fall In Love Too Easily
    4. I Can't Get Started
    5. A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square
    6. Time After Time
    7. You're The Top
    8. Honeysuckle Rose
    9. No Moon At All
    10. I'll See You In My Dreams
    11. Don't Be That Way
    12. Let's Face The Music And Dance
    13. I Used To Be Color Blind
    14. Pick Yourself Up
    15. I Never Had A Chance
    16. Stompin' At The Savoy
    17. Let's Begin
    18. Sweet Georgia Brown
    19. I Won't Dance
    20. Man With A Horn
    21. There's A Lull In My Life
    22. Stars Fell On Alabama

    Anita O'Day - Selected Clef, Norgran & Verve Recordings 1952-56

    • Product Code: anita oday
    • Availability: In Stock
    • $16.00